List of States in Nigeria and their Governors, 2024

In this post, Platinum Times Nigeria enlists the states in Nigeria and their different Governors in 2024.

Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, is found in West African and boast a large population of about 182 million people.

It is also Africa’s second-largest economy, the 39th-largest in the world by nominal GDP and the sixth most populous country globally.

It borders Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, and Benin in the west.

It is home to over 250 ethnic groups who speak over 500 languages, including Yoruba, Igbo, Fula, Hausa, Edo, Ibibio, Tiv, Efik, Ijaw, Kanuri, Itsekiri, Idoma and English as the country’s official language.

The country is splitted in between Muslims, who live mostly in the north, Christians, who live mostly in the south and traditionalists who are found in the various ethnic groups.

Nigeria is blessed with a diverse geography, with climates ranging from arid to humid equatorial, coastal swamps in the south, tropical forests, woodlands, grasslands, and semi-desert in the north and abundant natural resources, including large deposits of petroleum, coal, limestone, natural gas etc.

36 states makes up the federation of Nigeria with the Federal Capital Territory, located at Abuja and Lagos serving as the Nation’s commercial capital and largest city.

Following its independence from the British on 1st October, 1960 and the dissolution of the first to third republic, Nigeria operates a federal Presidential system where the President is the head of State and is elected after every four years alongside his league of governors who guide the affairs of the state’s across the country.

As of 2024, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu sits as the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, listed below are the Governors of the 36 states of Nigeria.

States        Governors  

1. Abia                       Alex Otti 

2. Adamawa     Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri

3. Akwa Ibom      Umo Bassey Eno

4. Anambra          Charles Soludo 

5. Bauchi            Bala Muhammed 

6. Bayelsa                    Douye Diri

7. Benue                   Hyacinth Alia

8. Borno                Babagana Zulum 

9. Cross River     Bassey Edet Otu

10. Delta               Sheriff Oborevwori 

11. Ebonyi               Francis Nwifuru

12. Edo                    Godwin Obaseki 

13. Ekiti                   Biodun Oyebanji 

14. Enugu                    Peter Mbah 

15. Gombe     Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya 

16. Imo                    Hope Uzodinma 

17. Jigawa                  Umar Namadi

18. Kaduna                     Uba Sani 

19. Kano                   Abba Kabir Yusuf

20. Katsina             Dikko Umaru Radda

21. Kebbi                       Nasir Idris 

22. Kogi                Ahmed Usman Ododo

23.  Kwara        AbdulRahman AbdulRasaq

24. Lagos             Babajide Sanwo-Olu 

25. Nasarawa           Abdullahi Sule

26. Niger           Mohammed Umar Bago 

27. Ogun                  Dapo Abiodun 

28. Ondo             Lucky Aiyedatiwa 

29. Osun               Ademola Adeleke 

30. Oyo                     Seyi Makinde

31. Plateau           Caleb Mutfwang 

32. Rivers            Siminalayi Fubara

33. Sokoto              Ahmad Aliyu 

34. Taraba                Agbu Kefas 

35. Yobe                 Mai Mala Buni 

36. Zamfara            Dauda Lawal 

FCT Minister     Nyesom Wike

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.